COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Various: Sounds New

  • 19 Easy Piano Pieces (2005)
  • for piano
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Various
  • Editor: Peter Roggenkamp
Web Cover

Printed product

Diverse: Sounds New for piano | UE33000

Compositions from the 20th and 21st Century with anecdotes and riddles of the life and work of the composer.

  • Edition type: collection
  • Grade: 2-4
  • Edition info: From the masters of the 20th and 21th centuries. Selected with young hands in mind but also suitable for older players wishing to approach new music via easier material. Notes on the pieces included.
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-2921-8
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-07685-5
Product available


Music of our time! Soundsnew is a collection of works for solo piano from the masters of the 20th and 21st centuries. Selected for the young and with young hands in mind, these pieces are also suitable for older students and adults wishing to approach new music via this easier material. The technical levels approximate books II and III of Bartók's Mikro-kosmos. The pieces are presented chronologically according to the birth dates of the composers who include: Béla Bartók; Anton Webern; Jenö Takács; György Kurtág; Friedrich Cerha; Anthony Hedges; Arvo Pärt; Peter Roggenkamp; Richard Rodney Bennett; Ian Wilson; Roxanna Panufnik and Johannes Maria Staud. Works from these last three young composers were especially written for this collection along with a piece from the editor himself, Peter Roggenkamp. Explanations of markings and notation along with performance tips are included with each piece. This is truly a wonderful resource of piano works from the modern masters.

Sample Pages

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works