Arnold Schönberg: String Quartet II

  • in F# minor
  • for soprano and string quartet
  • Duration: 30’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st violin
    2nd violin
  • Composer: Arnold Schönberg
  • Piano reduction: Alban Berg
  • Text author: Stefan Anton George
  • Table of contents:
    Mäßig (moderato)
    Sehr rasch
    Litanei (Stefan George). Langsam
    Entrueckung (Stefan George). Sehr Langsam
Web Cover

Printed product

Arnold Schönberg: String Quartet Nr. 2 for soprano and string quartet - op. 10 | UE35543

  • Edition type: study score
  • Series: Neue Studienpartituren-Reihe
  • Languages: German
  • Edition info: Additional publications: UE6862 and UE6863 (piano reductions), UE2994 (string parts).
  • Format: 17.0 × 24.0 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7130-9
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08461-4
Product available


The two poems by Stefan George 'Litanei' and 'Rapture ' were worked by Schoenberg into a set of variations and into a finale far removed from traditional notions of form. The vocal reduction of the 3rd movement 'Litanei' is available as UE 6862, the vocal reduction for the 4th movement 'Entrückung ' is available as UE6863. The string parts are available as UE 2994.

'This quartet adds a new element to Schoenberg's creative oeuvre: brevity. It was already indicated by the succinctness of the Chamber Symphony and is clearly expressed in the structure of the F sharp minor Quartet with four shorter movements. There is only a small step from the harmonic language of this work to a complete renunciation of tonality. The last movement - although, in the main, belonging to F sharp mayor - no longer carries a key signature. Chromatic alteration turns the fourth chords into harmonies never heard before, free from any tonal context.' (Anton Webern)

Sample Pages


  • Mäßig (moderato)
  • Sehr rasch
  • Litanei (Stefan George). Langsam
  • Entrueckung (Stefan George). Sehr Langsam

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works