COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Johannes Brahms: Sonate

  • in E minor
  • for violoncello and piano
  • Composer: Johannes Brahms
  • Adaptation: Wolfgang Boettcher
  • Editor: Hans-Christian Müller
  • Fingering: Detlef Kraus
  • Table of contents:
    Sonate für Violoncello und Klavier e-Moll op. 38
  • Dedication: Herrn Dr. Josef Gänsbacher zugeeignet
Web Cover

Printed product

Johannes Brahms: Sonata for violoncello and piano - op. 38 | UT50039

  • Edition type: urtext edition
  • Series: Wiener Urtext Edition
  • Grade: 5-7
  • Edition info: Edited from the original edition by Hans-Christian Müller / arrangement of the cello part by Bernhardt Stockman / Fingering of the piano part by Detlef Kraus.
  • Format: 23.1 × 30.3 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-85055-038-3
  • ISMN: 979-0-50057-038-7
Product available


The sonata op. 38 Brahms wrote during the summer months of 1862 and 1865 is part of every cellist's standard repertory. The piece is "a greeting to J.S. Bach". In the first movement, Brahms copied the counterpoint 4 from the "Art of the Fugue" in the main motif, as well as counterpoint 13 in the motif of the fugue in the finale. Offered to publishers Breitkopf & Härtel with the composer's comment that it was "quite easy to play for both instruments", it is possible for advanced amateur musicians to perform the sonata - in contrast to its counterpart in F-Major.

Sample Pages


  • Sonate für Violoncello und Klavier e-Moll op. 38

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works