COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Theodor Berger: Chronique Symphonique

  • for orchestra
  • 3 3 3 3 - 5(5. ad lib.) 4 3 1 - timp, perc, str
  • Duration: 16’
  • Instrumentation details:
    3 3 3 3 - 4(maybe 5) 4 3 1 - timp., perc., bells - str.
  • Composer: Theodor Berger

Work introduction

This work is a symphonic showpiece for orchestra. Berger was right to call the first section con fuoco; enormous energy drives the music as it reels forward, head over heels, the strings providing thumping rhythmical accents while bells peal and the winds blaze out alerts. A meno mosso section, twice recurring, is evocative of Mahler, but does not last long before the breathless furioso regains the upper hand.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works