COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Theodor Berger: Impressions

  • for orchestra
  • 2 2 2 2 - 4 2 3 0 - timp, perc, hp - str
  • Duration: 20’
  • Instrumentation details:
    2 2 2 2 - 4 2 3 0 - 3 timp., perc., glock., bells, xyl., vib. - hp. - str.
  • Composer: Theodor Berger

Work introduction

Although they last only a few minutes, Impressions are yet a creation of brilliant, differently characterised mosaics, Berger’s virtuosity not limited to the orchestral fireworks (as in Sägewerk [“Sawmill”] and Werkstattrhythmen [“Workshop Rhythms”]); it extends to the art of tone-painting, including his imaginative scoring for glockenspiel, bells, harp, xylophone and vibraphone. The result is a cycle of bucolic landscape images which, as the composer’s subtitle suggests, listeners can hear and also see in their mind’s eye.


World première

Wien (AT)
Wiener Symphoniker
Hans Swarowsky

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works