COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Ulvi Cemal Erkin: Köçekce

  • for orchestra
  • 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, cel, str
  • Duration: 8’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    3rd clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    1st percussion
    2nd percussion
    3rd percussion
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Ulvi Cemal Erkin

Work introduction

The Turkish composer Ulvi Cemâl Erkin was one of The Turkish Five, the first professional composers to want to reform Turkish music in the early 20th century in line with western role models. The suite for orchestra, Köçekce, a dance rhapsody composed in 1943, is one of his best-known works. It refers to the music accompanying a traditional men’s dance and reflects the characteristic harmonies, melodies and rhythms of Turkish music.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)


Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works