COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Wolfgang Rihm: 2. Doppelgesang

  • Music (1981-1983)
  • for clarinet, violoncello and orchestra
  • 0 2 0 2 - 2 0 0 0, str(at least 10 8 6 4 3)
  • Duration: 15’
  • Soloists:
    clarinet, violoncello
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe (+c.a)
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Wolfgang Rihm

Work introduction

As with many others of Rihm’s works, the keyword to this music is Gesang, as he lets the instruments sing again and again; in his Doppelgesängen they sing with one voice, as if a single instrument were playing. “Janus singing,” as the composer says. The long, sustained notes generate terrific tension for about 5,5 minutes, until dance-like material is introduced in a short, bright section. The moment is almost surreal – it is gone again as quickly as it came and the prevailing atmosphere of the music returns.

Translation © 2012 by Grant Chorley


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Hitzacker (DE)
I Fiamminghi
Rudolf Werthen
Main soloists:
Eduard Brunner, Kl; Wolfgang Boettcher, Vc

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works