COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. Of course, you are still welcome to use the various contact forms on our website and place orders online in our webshop. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Wolfgang Rihm: 4. Streichquartett

  • for string quartet
  • Duration: 17’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st violin
    2nd violin
  • Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
  • Dedication: dem Alban-Berg-Quartett gewidmet
  • Commission: komponiert für die Römerbad-Musiktage 1983, Badenweiler, zu deren zehnjärigem Bestehen.

Work introduction

The String Quartet No 4 is indeed a string quartet – but not “The Fourth;” perhaps it is a Ninth – no one knows.

It is in three movements, two of which are fast (although not really that fast) and one of which is slow (but not only slow).

I composed the Fourth Quartet during the winter of 1980/81. It is a straggler and a harbinger at one and the same time. I haven’t heard it yet. I’m looking forward to its poesy, which doesn’t interest me at all anymore today, because it has already passed through the “interesting” stage, which is much more interesting – or as uninteresting as permissible today. But that is another story – think up something for yourselves, for goodness’ sake. Music isn’t behind the music or in the words alongside the music – guess what it is and win a prize.

And yet this string quartet is anything but cheery …

Wolfgang Rihm


From the programme booklet, Vienna Konzerthaus 1984

The String Quartet No 4 is an extremely emotional work, full of harsh contrasts, passionate outbursts, craggy in its progress; therefore it is formally difficult to pin down. The sequence of two fast movements and one slow final farewell is unusual, whereby the hefty unisono run-up at the start also corresponds structurally to the resignation of the close as it seeps away. The first part – dominated by its ascending motif – issues into an alla Marcia, allegro ma non troppo which, for a short time, entails uniformly shaped passages. The second movement also has a bipartite layout: a predominantly chordal introduction and an “aria” (beginning subito andante), whose cantabile character is short-lived. There is a “long rest” preceding the final movement; it begins ethereally, then flares up briefly before being extinguished rapidly.


World première

Badenweiler (DE)
Alban Berg Quartett

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works