COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Wolfgang Rihm: Am Horizont

  • Stille Szene (1991)
  • for violin, violoncello and accordion
  • Duration: 5’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
  • Dedication: Mauricio Kagel zum 60. Geburtstag

Work introduction

Dedicated to Mauricio Kagel on his 60th birthday, this work requires the three instruments to be positioned as far as possible from one another on the stage, transmitting quiet messages to one another from the distance. Most of them consist of one, sustained pitch, then a little more – but the music remains extremely transparent and airy, pianissimo and triple-piano (apart from a few triple-fortes and triple-forte sforzati). Rihm describes the end like a dream, the violinist making a silent, beckoning gesture and the other players cupping their hands to their harkening ears.

Translation © 2012 by Grant Chorley


World première

Philharmonie Köln, Köln (DE)
Main soloists:
Saschko Gawriloff, Vl, Siegfried Palm, Vc, Teodoro Anzellotti, Akk

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works