Universal Edition - Friedrich Cerha – Der Rattenfänger

Friedrich Cerha

Friedrich Cerha
Der Rattenfänger

Year of composition: 1984-1986/2003
Subtitle: Opera in 2 parts
Composer: Friedrich Cerha
Text Source: "Der Rattenfänger" von Carl Zuckmayer
Librettist: Friedrich Cerha
Parts: Der Rattenfänger, Tenor
Der Stadtregent, Bariton
Divana, seine Frau, Mezzosopran
Maria und Martin, ihre Kinder,Sopran und Tenor Elken, Kammerfrau, Alt
Johannes, deren gelähmter Sohn, Tenor
Der Kleine Henker, Bariton
Rikke, dessen Tochter, Sopran
Der Hostienbäcker, Tenor
Der Stiftsprobst, Bass
Der Stadtrichter (auch 1. Mann und 1. Landsknecht), Bariton
Der Roggenherzog (auch 2. Mann), Bass
1. Bursche, Bariton
2. Bursche, Tenor
3. Bursche, Bass
2. Landsknecht, Tenor
Stina, ein blindes Mädchen, Sprechrolle
Ein tauber Knabe / Der Hauptmann (auch Der Wirt und Ein Feldwebel), Sprechrolle
Der Dekan, Sprechrolle
Instrumentation: 2 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - perc(5), hp, org, sop.sax, baritone, guit, str; stage orchestra: 1 1 0 1 - 0 3 3 0, perc(5), org, sop.sax(Bb), str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute (+picc)
2nd flute (+ picc
alto fl(G))
1st oboe
2nd oboe
cor anglais (+3rd ob)
1st clarinet in A
2nd clarinet in A
bass clarinet in Bb (+3rd cl(A))
soprano saxophone in Bb (+ alto sax(Eb))
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass tuba
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
4th percussion
5th percussion
guitar (+ bass guit)
violin I(12)
violin II(10)
stage orchestra: piccolo
soprano saxophone in Bb
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
4th percussion
5th percussion
violin I(12)
violin II(8)
Scenery: 17 Szenen in 11 Bühnenbildern
Commissioned by: Steirischer Herbst Graz
Duration: 180′
Please check your input!

  • Cerha Friedrich

  • Der Rattenfänger

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Der Rattenfänger

World Première

Location: Opernhaus Graz / Austria
Date: 26.09.1987
Orchestra: Grazer Philharmonisches Orchester
Conductor: Friedrich Cerha
Scenery: Hans Hollmann
Main Soloists: Peter Lindroos, Der Rattenfänger; Heinz-Jürgen Demitz, Der Stadtregent; Ursula Reinhardt-Kiss, seine Frau; Gabriele Schuchter, Stina; Konstantin Sfiris, Der Stiftprobst; Josef Kepplinger, Der Dekan; Manfred Hemm, Der Stadtrichter;
Remarks: steirischer herbst; Kostüme: Frieda Parmeggiani


As long as there are composers like Friedrich Cerha, we shouldn't be all that worried about the future of the genre; we need simply to take the few operas Cerha has produced and play them over and over again. (Gert Korentschnig, Kurier)

Libretto – Der Rattenfänger

  • Edition type: libretto
  • UE18559
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-2235-6
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-07188-1
EUR 12,50

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

2 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.