COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Alfred Schnittke: Concerto

  • for oboe, harp and string orchestra
  • Duration: 16’
  • Composer: Alfred Schnittke
  • Dedication: Heinz und Ursula Holliger und den Zagreber Solisten gewidmet

Work introduction

Konzert for oboe, harp and strings is dedicated to Heinz and Ursula Holliger and the Zagreb Soloists. The work is pervaded by an atmosphere of lamentation. After the introduction, the soloists are gradually singled out with growing intensity. The melodic “singing” of the oboe and the periodic “pacing” of the harp are changed into “Speech, crying, screaming, laughing” and “clumsy walking, jumping and dancing” respectively. This development from melodic continuity to impulsive movement is later followed by the string orchestra. The finale is preceded by two cadenzas: the duo-cadenza of the soloists and the cadenza played by the string orchestra.

Nenad Turkalj


World première

Zagreb (HR)
Zagreb Soloists
Igor Gjadrov
Main soloists:
Heinz Holliger, ob; Ursula Holliger, hp

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works