COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Anton Webern: Passacaglia

  • for orchestra
  • 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc, hp, str
  • Duration: 12’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1. flute
    2. flute
    1. oboe
    2. oboe
    cor anglais
    1. clarinet in B
    2. clarinet in B
    bass clarinet in B
    1. bassoon
    2. bassoon
    1. horn in F
    2. horn in F
    3. horn in F
    4. horn in F
    1. trumpet in B
    2. trumpet in B
    3. trumpet in B
    1. trombone
    2. trombone
    3. trombone
    bass tuba
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Anton Webern


Work specifications


Publication Information

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Send inquiry", you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

Work introduction

‘To surrender oneself utterly to the listening experience’ – this is what Anton Webern’s music demands. ‘To recognise sounds, to experience them sensuously’ – these are the composer’s main concerns. His works are among the most important compositions of the 20th century and represent the most radical and logically consistent continuation of the 12-tone technique developed by Arnold Schönberg. ‘He could express a whole novel in a sigh’, said Schönberg of his compressed writing style. His first masterpiece, the Passacaglia for orchestra op. 1 (first performed in 1908) is a remarkable testimony to Webern’s handling of the late Romantic orchestral apparatus as well as to his clear formal organisation of its 269 bars.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Wien (AT)
Anton Webern

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works