Luciano Berio: Sequenza XII

Luciano Berio Sequenza XII
Sequenza XII

Luciano Berio: Sequenza XII

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for bassoon
Luciano Berio
More Less

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

License request


Sequenza XII

Work introduction

This piece requires enormous virtuosity, if only because the player must employ circular-breathing technique throughout; the result is a work sounding for 19 minutes without breaks or pauses for breath. The work was tailor-made for French bassoonist Pascal Gallois, who added the special annotations to the score.

Berio calls Sequenza XII “a meditation on the circumstance that the bassoon – perhaps more than any other wind instrument – seems to have oppositional characteristics in its personality – differing profiles, differing articulation options, differing characteristics of timbre and dynamics.”

From our online shop

World première

Paris (FR)
Main soloists:
Pascal Gallois

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now