COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Arnold Schönberg: String Quartet II

  • in F# minor
  • for soprano and string quartet
  • Duration: 30’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st violin
    2nd violin
  • Composer: Arnold Schönberg
  • Piano reduction: Alban Berg
  • Text author: Stefan Anton George
  • Table of contents:
    Mäßig (moderato)
    Sehr rasch
    Litanei (Stefan George). Langsam
    Entrueckung (Stefan George). Sehr Langsam
Web Cover

Printed product

Arnold Schönberg: String Quartet No. 2 for soprano and string quartet - op. 10 | PH229

  • Edition type: pocket score
  • Series: Philharmonia Taschenpartituren
  • Grade: 4-5
  • Languages: German
  • Edition info: Additional publications: UE6862 and UE6863 (piano reductions), UE2994 (string parts).
  • Format: 13.5 × 18.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-1261-6
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-01874-9
Product available


The two poems by Stefan George 'Litanei' and 'Rapture ' were worked by Schoenberg into a set of variations and into a finale far removed from traditional notions of form. The vocal reduction of the 3rd movement 'Litanei' is available as UE 6862, the vocal reduction for the 4th movement 'Entrückung ' is available as UE 6863. The string parts are available as UE 2994.

'This quartet adds a new element to Schoenberg's creative oeuvre: brevity. It was already indicated by the succinctness of the Chamber Symphony and is clearly expressed in the structure of the F sharp minor Quartet with four shorter movements. There is only a small step from the harmonic language of this work to a complete renunciation of tonality. The last movement - although, in the main, belonging to F sharp mayor - no longer carries a key signature. Chromatic alteration turns the fourth chords into harmonies never heard before, free from any tonal context.' (Anton Webern)


  • Mäßig (moderato)
  • Sehr rasch
  • Litanei (Stefan George). Langsam
  • Entrueckung (Stefan George). Sehr Langsam


Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works