Gustav Mahler: Titan

  • A Tone Poem in Symphony Form in two parts and five movements (1888-1889/1894)
  • in D major
  • 4 4 4 3 - 7 4 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp(1–2), str
  • Duration: 60’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute (+picc)
    3rd flute (+picc)
    4th flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+c.a)
    4th oboe
    clarinet in Eb (+bass cl(Bb))
    1st clarinet in Bb (+cl(A), cl(C))
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A), cl(C))
    3rd clarinet inBb (+cl(A), cl(C), cl(Eb))
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    5th horn in F
    6th horn in F
    7th horn in F
    1st trumpet in F (+piston (Bb))
    2nd trumpet in F (+piston (Bb))
    3rd trumpet in F
    4th trumpet in F
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    contrabass tuba
    percussion(3) (trgl, cym, turkish cym, t-t, b.dr)
    violin I
    violin II
    double bass
  • Composer: Gustav Mahler
  • Editor: Reinhold KubikStephen E. Hefling
Web Cover

Printed product

Gustav Mahler: Titan for large orchestra | UE33911

A tone poem in the form of a symphony in two parts and five movements

  • Edition type: score
  • Series: Mahler Neue Kritische Gesamtausgabe
  • Volume: Supplement Bd. 5
  • Edition info: Based on the New Critical Complete Edition by the "Internationale Gustav Mahler Gesellschaft Wien". Includes a preface, bibliography and the detailed critical report by Stephen Hefling. A German/English glossary lists Gustav Mahler's performance indications and instruments.
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7624-3
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08952-7
Product available


Sample Pages

General information on Titan von Gustav Mahler

Work introduction

Sample pages

World première

Laeiszhalle, Hamburg (DE)
Thomas Hengelbrock

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works