COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Béla Bartók: Concerto No. 2

  • for piano and orchestra
  • 3 2 2 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(2), str
  • Duration: 25’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    piccolo (+3rd fl)
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe (+c.a)
    2nd oboe
    1st clarinet in B/A
    2nd clarinet in B/A (+bass cl(Bb))
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    bass tuba
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Béla Bartók
  • Editor: Peter Bartók

arrangements & translations

Work specifications



Arrangement Information

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Submit" you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

Work introduction

Bartók might have protected his first piano concerto but with time, he was obliged to accept that “the facture is somewhat – even very – difficult for both the audience and the orchestra. That is why I decided some years later, 1930/1931, to compose my second piano concerto as a counterpart to the first one, thematically more agreeable and with fewer difficulties for the orchestra. This intention explains the more folk-like, lighter character of most of the themes.” Further, the composer describes the orchestration: “The orchestra consists of winds and percussion in the first movement; it is made up of (muted) strings and timpani in the Adagio; the Scherzo uses strings, a group of winds and percussion, and only the third requires the full orchestra.”

Bálint Varga


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Frankfurt am Main (DE)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works