COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Cristóbal Halffter: Elegías a la muerte de tres poetas españoles

  • for orchestra
  • 4 4 4 4 - 6 4 4 1 - perc(5), hp(2),, str
  • Duration: 30’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1. flute
    2. flute
    3. flute (+picc.)
    4. flute (+picc.)
    1. oboe
    2. oboe
    3. oboe
    4. oboe
    1. clarinet in B
    2. clarinet in B
    3. clarinet in Eb
    bass clarinet
    1. bassoon
    2. bassoon
    3. bassoon
    4. bassoon
    1. horn in F
    2. horn in F
    3. horn in F
    4. horn in F
    5. horn in F
    6. horn in F
    1. trumpet in C
    2. trumpet in C
    3. trumpet in C
    4. trumpet in C
    1. trombone
    2. trombone
    3. trombone
    4. trombone
    1. perc
    2. perc
    3. perc
    4. perc
    5. perc
    1. harp
    2. harp
    violin I (16)
    violin II (14)
    viola (12)
    violoncello (10)
    contrabass (8)
  • Composer: Cristóbal Halffter
  • Table of contents:
    Antonio Machado: Exilio
    Federico Garcia Lorca: Sangre
    Miguel Hernandez: Carcel
  • Dedication: escrita por encargo de la Südwestfunk de Baden-Baden
  • Commission: á mis hijos Alonso, Maria y Pedro

Work introduction

Elegías a la muerte de tres poetas españoles (Elegies on the death of three Spanish poets) was composed in summer 1975. Here, Halffter pays tribute to poets Antonio Machado, Miguel Hernandez and Federico Garcia Lorca, all of whom were victims of fascism and displacement. The composer’s hope that such events will never happen again are conveyed impressively through this music.


World première

SWF Landesstudio, Baden-Baden (DE)
Cristóbal Halffter

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works