COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Arvo Pärt: Passio

  • Passio Domini nostri Jesu Christi secundum Joannem (1982)
  • for solos, mixed choir, instrumental quartet and organ
  • 0 1 0 1 - 0 0 0 0 - org, vln, vc
  • Duration: 75’
  • Soloists:
    1. tenor
    alto or countertenor
    2. tenor
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Choir: SATB
  • Roles: Jesus, baritone Pilate, tenor evangelists: soprano, alto (countertenor), tenor, bass
  • Composer: Arvo Pärt
  • Table of contents:
    Passio (Passio Domini nostri Jesu Christi secundum Joannem)
  • Commission: Bayerischer Rundfunk
Web Cover

Printed product

Arvo Pärt: Passio Domini nostri Jesu Christi secundum Joannem for soli, mixed choir (SATB), oboe, bassoon, violin, cello and organ | UE17570

  • Edition type: choral score
  • Languages: Latin
  • Edition info: Orchestra material on hire
  • Format: 21.0 × 29.7 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-2357-5
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-02811-3
Product available
Minimal order: 10 pieces


It takes 75 minutes to relate the story of the Passion according to the Latin of St John's Gospel; Pärt uses solo singers for the roles of Pilate and Christ, and a group of four soloists (soprano, counter tenor, tenor and bass) for the Evangelist, together with a small chorus. Understatement is all: the instrumental accompaniment is confined to a quartet of woodwind and strings that underpins the Evangelist quartet, and an organ to support the remaining singers. Each distinct group has its own scraps of melodic material, which are constantly varied and repeated. Everything proceeds in rhythmic unison, so that the effect js ritualistic and highly austere. (Andrew Clements, Financial Times, 12.6.1986)

Sample Pages


  • Passio (Passio Domini nostri Jesu Christi secundum Joannem)


Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works