Universal Edition - Friedrich Cerha – Nacht

Friedrich Cerha

Friedrich Cerha

Year of composition: 2012-2013
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Friedrich Cerha
Instrumentation: 3 0 5 3 - 6 3 5 0 - perc(6), hp(2), pno, str
Instrumentation details:

Commissioned by: Kompositionsauftrag des Südwestrundfunks
Duration: 20′
Please check your input!

  • Cerha Friedrich

  • Nacht

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Baar-Sporthalle Donaueschingen / Germany
Date: 17.10.2014
Orchestra: SWR-SO Baden-Baden und Freiburg
Conductor: Emilio Pomàrico

Work Introduction

Language is a medium which, for some time now, is being used more than all other idioms of every art genre to communicate, handled as if they were transposable as desired, as if any such attempts at translation at all were a legitimate, acceptable undertaking. Thus music, via literature, became an autonomous area of the art scene, with its own criteria, experts, fashions and opinion-makers. What is spoken or written is often trusted much more than one’s own experience. This is not restricted to music; despite substantial societal changes, “lecture on heaven” is still being given precedence over Heaven astonishingly often since 1968 with regard to new music.

Composers are expected to operate as men of literature. They are supposed to write introductions to their works, author essays, give lectures. That means there are then musical elements in the foreground which are well presentable using linguistic means, or else – which is more often the case – ideologically and fashionably coloured aspects which are not necessarily crucially germane to the work concerned. Therefore scepticism could indeed be appropriate when considering what composers write; in reality, they are considered an authority in an area in which they are in fact dilettantes.

I do not like it when people attempt to mystify art, when the ideological programmatic goal, the material and the technique of working it become more important than the work’s living organism. Every self-absorbed contemplation of one’s navel contains distorted perspectives, every self-interpretation, self-categorisation or self-assessment is, one way or another, wrong. I am someone who writes music, paints pictures and sculpts in stone. That does not mean that my critical consciousness has been lost, and it does not signify that there is no personal expressive desire, no strong need to express myself behind my work; those who know my work are aware of that. Self-analysis is beneficial, but interpretative attempts are better left to the recipients – and the commentators are liable for their own judgements.

When I write about my work, it is rather to characterise a piece for listeners in a cautious way. About this work in particular: I like to work at night, sometimes until daybreak. During the night, I imagine that time belongs to me; during the day, I belong to time. Now and again time passes slower at night – sometimes I can even make it stand still. And while the sounds of the world often pass by unnoticed during the day, in the quiet of the night attention is sharpened to the slightest sounds, sometimes far apart, and we await the next one with keen ears – the wind in the trees, the rustling of leaves, a branch cracking, a bird’s tired call or a faraway automobile.

And so voilà the grandness of the night sky: I love to observe the shooting stars in August: short pinpoints of light moving incredibly quickly through the dark immobility. My imagination raises such events to a higher power: myriad shooting stars falling in dense pathways from the skies, forming rapidly moving curtains. And these “curtains” articulate my piece; they appear again and again, they become ever slower, weightier, coming less from “above” with less and less luminosity – and in between is what has become sound for me in those nocturnal hours.

Friedrich Cerha

View the full score

full score - Nacht

  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

study score - Nacht

  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

Future Performances

07.09.2017 - Suntory Music Festival
Location: Suntory Hall, Tokio (J), Orchestra: Tokyo Metropolitan SO, Conductor: Ilan Volkov

3 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.