Pierre Boulez: Douze Notations
Pierre Boulez
Douze Notations
EUR 16.50

Pierre Boulez: Douze Notations for piano

  • Composer: Boulez Pierre
  • for piano
  • Difficulty: 4-5
  • Edition type: sheet music
  • Medium: sheet music
  • UE18310
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-0711-7
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-04117-4
  • 23.2 x 30.5 cm
EUR 16.50

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)


"12 Notations" by Pierre Boulez - 12 pieces of medium difficulty - is an important contemporary work for every pianist and student of the piano.


Sample page(s)

Description sheet music

Pierre Boulez' "Notations" are not only fascinating works. They are also sonic witnesses to their times. They originated as piano pieces in 1945 when Boulez was just 20 years old. Between thirty and fifty years later Boulez rewrote them as orchestral works. Starting from the existing piano versions, Boulez created entirely new works that are much more than just orchestrations.

Contents - Douze Notations for piano

  • 1. Fantasque - Modéré
  • 2. Très vif
  • 3. Assez lent
  • 4. Rythmique
  • 5. Doux et improvisé
  • 6. Rapide
  • 7. Hiératique
  • 8. Modéré jusqu’ à très vif
  • 9. Lointain - Calme
  • 10. Mécanique et très sec
  • 11. Scintillant
  • 12. Lent - Puissant et âpre
Audio Sample
  • 12 Notations | für Klavier


How long did it take you to compose the Notations? What was your initial impulse? What influenced you when you wrote the orchestration?


Find the answers to these questions and more in the video below. The video also features excerpts from Taka Kigawa’s concert performance Complete Solo Piano Works of Pierre Boulez.


Sign up for our newsletter!

You will get information about new sheet music, free downloads and news about our composers. We'll never share your address.


UE Newsletter