COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Arnold Schönberg: Chamber Symphony No. 1

  • in E major
  • for 15 solo instruments
  • 1 2 3 2 - 2 0 0 0 - str(1 1 1 1 1)
  • Duration: 22’
  • Instrumentation details:
    flute (+picc)
    cor anglais
    clarinet in D (+cl(Eb))
    clarinet in A (+cl(Bb))
    bass clarinet in Bb
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    1st violin(1)
    2nd violin(1)
  • Composer: Arnold Schönberg
  • Table of contents:
    Kammersymphonie für 15 Soloinstrumente op. 9

Work introduction

Composed in 1906, the Chamber Symphony op. 9 for 15 solo instruments represents a high point in Schönberg’s artistic development. The reasons that motivated Schönberg as early as 1914 to arrange this Chamber Symphony for orchestra were not only related to practical performance aspects, however (enabling performance at larger concert halls), but were also connected to the fundamental problem that originated quasi-intrinsically from its hybrid position between orchestral and chamber music. The orchestral version from 1914 was never published and is now available for the first time as completely new orchestral material. A later orchestral version, which is further from the original, was produced by Schönberg when he was already in American exile.


Sample pages

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works