COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. Of course, you are still welcome to use the various contact forms on our website and place orders online in our webshop. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Bohuslav Martinů: Concerto

  • for harpsichord and small orchestra
  • 1 0 0 1 - 0 0 0 0 - pno - vln(3), vla, vc, cb
  • Duration: 17’30”
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st violin
    2nd violin
    3rd violin
    violoncello, double bass
  • Composer: Bohuslav Martinů
  • Dedication: Marcelle de Lacour

Work introduction

This is a delightful piece in the French-Neoclassical style; its scoring almost suggests the chamber-musical genre. The synergy of harpsichord and piano produces some enchanting sonic effects which anticipate Frank Martin’s Petite Symphonie Concertante.

It was commissioned by the soloist Marcelle de Lacour, a pupil of the legendary Wanda Landowska, who was the key protagonist in returning the harpsichord to the concert stages of the 20th century. Only three months previously, in June 1935, Martin? had already composed Deux pièces for harpsichord for Marcelle de Lacour.

The Concerto was premiered on 29 February 1936 in Paris as part of the contemporary music cycle Concerts du Triton, conducted by Henri Tomasi.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Paris (FR)
Ensemble Instrumental
Henri Tomasi
Main soloists:
Marcelle de Lacour, harpsichord

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works