David Fennessy: Hashima Refrain

David Fennessy Hashima Refrain
Hashima Refrain

David Fennessy: Hashima Refrain

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for choir (16 voices) a cappella
David Fennessy
4 S., 4 A., 4 T., 4 B.
Co-Commissioned by Chamber Choir Ireland and the Nederland Kammerkoor
This piece is part of the triptych ‘Letter to Michael’ – ‘Ne Reminiscaris’ – ‘Hashima Refrain’.
More Less

Work introduction

Hashima Refrain is the final part in a triptych of works beginning with Letter to Michael (2014), followed by Ne Reminiscaris (2017), which I have written for Chamber Choir Ireland and Paul Hillier. 


The text for Hashima Refrain comes from two sources - a poem found graffitied on a wall of the abandoned Hashima Island in Japan, and the final entry of the 10th century text Sarashina Nikki, a memoir of a lady in waiting during the Heian Period of Japanese history.


Somewhere in my tangled mind I began to think of the writer of the lines from Sarashina Nikki as a different embodiment of the same persona who wrote the lines of the first piece in the triptych, Letter to Michael, now reflecting at the end of their life. In fact, I started to see the three pieces of the triptych as perhaps the expression of a single consciousness in three states of being - anticipation/ longing, the absolute present, and finally, looking back. Musically, it’s a kind of long journey in search of a fluid form of self expression. 


My hope is that once the music reaches the very simple setting of the poem at the end of Hashima Refrain, some kind of catharsis has been achieved. 


(David Fennessy)

World première

St Canice's RC Church, Kilkenny (IE)
Paul Hillier

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.