COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Friedrich Cerha: Konzert

  • for violoncello and orchestra
  • 1 1 2 1 - 2 2 2 0 - perc(3),, sop.sax, str(8 8 6 4 3)
  • Duration: 37’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    flute (+picc)
    1st clarinet in A
    2nd clarinet in A
    soprano saxophone in Bb
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    1st percussion
    2nd percussion
    3rd percussion
    electric organ
    violin I(8)
    violin II(8)
  • Composer: Friedrich Cerha
  • Dedication: für Heinrich Schiff in Freundschaft
  • Commission: Autragswerk der Berliner Festwochen

Work introduction

This concerto in three movements, each containing both lively and reflective music, is an elaboration of a single-movement (1989) fantasy for the same forces, and testifies to Cerha’s sheer technical virtuosity. He has an inexhaustible Austro-German contrapuntal deftness, a Bergian capacity for rapid build-up of tension and sudden thwack, and an individual feeling for luminous texture. The busiest passages never sound congested, and rare colours constantly emerge – wispy figures for electric organ, dialogues for soloist and steel drums. The centre of the slow movement, and of the work, is an outburst of shimmering patterns for woodwind, soprano saxophone, organ, tuned percussion and soloist: an explosion of expressionist colour, Kandinsky in tones. (Sunday Times, 19 August 1999)


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Philharmonie, Berlin (DE)
Berliner Philharmonisches Orchester
Michael Gielen
Main soloists:
Heinrich Schiff, vlc

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works