Friedrich Cerha: Tagebuch

  • for orchestra
  • 3 2 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, str
  • Duration: 15’30”
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    1st clarinet in A
    2nd clarinet in A (+bass cl(Bb))
    3rd clarinet in A (+bass cl(Bb))
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    bass tuba
    1st percussion
    2nd percussion
    3rd percussion
    violin I
    violin II
    double bass
  • Composer: Friedrich Cerha
  • Commission: Kompositionsauftrag des Hessischen Rundfunks

Work introduction

My weighty, extensive 3 Orchesterstücke, with their “confessional” expression (Berceuse céleste/Intermezzo/Tombeau), were followed in autumn 2011 by the much simpler Skizzen [Sketches] for orchestra: short pieces, transparently scored and easily comprehensible.

Even while working on them, my thoughts were turning to some other musical situations, and so I wrote eight pieces, epigrammatically tailored and even more frugal and transparent than the Skizzen. The composition is called Tagebuch since almost every piece was written in one day. Naturally, their characters vary strongly; some of them even have titles, such as Scherzo, Intermezzo and Etüde.

My objective was spontaneity of diction; paint-brushed lightly and quickly, the pieces are intended to be nothing more than good music, and – my special concern – listeners should notice nothing of the compositional work nevertheless standing behind it.

Friedrich Cerha

Translation by Grant Chorley, 2013

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Alte Oper, Frankfurt am Main (DE)
Andrés Orozco-Estrada

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works