COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Peter Iljitsch Tschaikowsky: 5. Symphonie

(Arranger: George Morton)

  • in E minor
  • for ensemble or chamber orchestra
  • 1 1 1 1 - 2 1 1 0 - timp, str (min. 1 1 1 1 1, max. 6 5 4 3 2)
  • Duration: 47’
  • Instrumentation details:
    flute (+picc)
    clarinet in A
    1st horn
    2nd horn
    trumpet in Bb
    1st violin
    2nd violin
    double bass
  • Composer: Peter Iljitsch Tschaikowsky
  • Arranger: George Morton

Work introduction

Tchaikovsky’s epic 5th Symphony is performed on the symphonic stage countless times a year and is beloved by performers and audiences alike. This new arrangement for ensemble or chamber orchestra allows the work to be taken away from the grandest of stages and into perhaps more intimate and interesting venues.  The orchestration, designed to maintain the energy and vivacity of the original, allows Tchiakovsky’s counterpoint and interweaving melodies to come to the fore, without being lost in a full symphony orchestra.  Here, single winds are joined by a pair of horns, solo trumpet and trombone, alongside timpani and strings (from quintet to 6 5 4 3 2).

Sample pages

World première

Yellow Arch Studios, Sheffield (GB)
Sheffield Rep Orchestra
George Morton

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works