COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 4

(Arranger: Klaus Simon)

  • in 4 movements (1899-1901/1902–1910)
  • in G major
  • for soprano and ensemble or chamber orchestra
  • 1 1 1 1 - 1 0 0 0 - perc(2), harm (or acc), pno, str(1 1 1 1 1, max. 6 5 4 3 2)
  • Duration: 54’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    flute (+picc)
    oboe (+c.a)
    clarinet in Bb (+cl(A)
    bass cl(Bb))
    horn in F
    percussion (2 players: glockenspiel, triangle, sleigh bells, chrash cymbal, suspended cymbal, tam-tam, bass drum)
    harmonium (or accordion)
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Gustav Mahler
  • Arranger: Klaus Simon

Stage performances

Work specifications

Contact person


Please, check again the information supplied by you.

We will send you an offer for a license agreement specifying ourt terms and conditions.
It is at UE discretion to grant you a permission on basis of the information supplied by you.
The transmission of your request does not represent a claim to the grant of a license.

Work introduction

This arrangement was made for a concert programme given by the Freiburg chamber orchestra Holst Sinfonietta in May 2007, which included works by Schönberg and Webern for chamber ensemble. For printing, I made some improvements and small changes to make a version which largely attempts to correct setbacks at the performances back then (especially problems of balance).

This chamber orchestra version is my endeavour to make it in the spirit of Schönberg’s Verein für musikalische Privataufführungen, the way it made practical musical arrangements, retaining Mahler’s unmistakable orchestral sound as much as possible. It is my hope that this version will enable even small ensembles to perform this symphony, the one closest to chamber music of all in Mahler’s oeuvre.

Klaus Simon


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Wasserschloss, Nordkirchen (DE)
Klaus Simon
Main soloists:
Britta Stallmeister, S

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works