COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 5

  • in 5 movements (1901-1903)
  • in C# minor
  • for orchestra
  • 4 3 3 3 - 6 4 3 1 - timp, perc, hp, str
  • Duration: 65’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute (+picc)
    4th flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+c.a)
    1st clarinet
    2nd clarinet
    3rd clarinet (+bass cl)
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn
    2nd horn
    3rd horn
    4th horn
    5th horn
    6th horn
    1st trumpet
    2nd trumpet
    3rd trumpet
    4th trumpet
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    bass tuba
    percussion: cymbal, 2 bass drums, snare drum, triangle, glockenspiel, tam-tam, rattle
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Gustav Mahler
  • Table of contents:
    1. Satz: Trauermarsch - In gemessenem Schritt, Streng, Wie ein Kondukt
    2. Satz: Stürmisch bewegt, mit größter Vehemenz
    3. Satz: Scherzo - Kräftig, nicht zu schnell
    4. Satz: Adagietto - Sehr langsam
    5. Satz: Rondo-Finale - Allegro
  • Remarks: Aufführungsmaterial beim Verlag C. F. Peters, Frankfurt/M.

World première

Köln (DE)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works