COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Johannes Maria Staud: Für Bálint András Varga

  • for violin, violoncello and piano
  • Duration: 13’45”
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Johannes Maria Staud
  • Dedication: dem Wiener Klaviertrio gewidmet

Work introduction

Writing this piece, dealing with the concept of writing for a piano trio, was no compositional walk in the park. It was, rather, more like a strenuous hike which, because of the slippery terrain, could be mastered only in short stages, challenging both condition and safety. The ten miniatures, arranged into four sections (1-4, 5, 6-7, and 8-10), probe a spectrum of moments that are delicately internalized and unfettered and explosive, as well as wildly accelerating and lithely pulsating.

This work is an homage to Bálint András Varga, my mentor and advocate, my advisor and fatherly friend, to whom my music and I are so incredibly indebted.

Johannes Maria Staud

The first four of the 10 miniatures were written in 2007 on the occasion of the retirement of Universal Edition’s long-time promotion manager; the other six short pieces (between 40 seconds and 2'40") were composed in London two years later. The title points to Morton Feldman, the topic of Staud’s diploma thesis, although his music is not related to Feldman’s.

Some of the miniatures follow one another attacca, while others end in tense pauses before the music continues. Each of them has its own, sharply etched character: “delicate and moving,” “rough and furious, “tender and internalised,” “supple and delicate,” “wild and over-accentuated,” “unchained and unrestrained,” etc. The Trio is gradually becoming a part of the international chamber-music repertoire; it has been performed in Europe and the United States.


World première

Boston (US)
Wiener Klaviertrio

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works