COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Leoš Janáček: Jenufa, her Stepdaughter

  • Opera in 3 acts from Moravian peasant life (1894-1903/1908)
  • Brno version, critical edition
  • 3 3 3 3 - 4 2 3 1 - timp, perc(2), bells, hp, str - stage music: hn(2), toy tpt, xyl, bells, str(1 1 1 1 1)
  • Duration: 120’
  • Instrumentation details:
    piccolo (+3rd fl)
    1st flute (+picc)
    2nd flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    1st clarinet in Bb (+cl(A))
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A))
    bass clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in F (+tpt(C))
    2nd trumpet in F (+tpt(C))
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    percussion (2 players: xylophone, glockenspiel, bells, triangle, cymbal (suspended)
    also xylophone cont.aind the scene)
    violin I
    violin II
    stage music: 1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    toy trumpet in C
    violin I(1)
    violin II(1)
  • Choir: SATTBB: Dorfvolk, Rekruten, Musikanten, Gesinde, Dorfmädchen
  • Roles: Grandmother Buryja, alto Kostelnicka Buryja, soprano Jenufa, soprano Laca Klemen, tenor Steva Buryja, tenor Foreman, baritone The Mayor, bass His Wife, mezzo-soprano Karolka, mezzo-soprano Herdswoman, mezzo-soprano Barena, soprano Jano, soprano Aunt, alto
  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Librettist: Gabriela Preissová
  • Editor: Sir Charles MackerrasJohn Tyrrell
  • Original language: Czech
  • Translator: Max BrodEdward DownesOtakar KrausVida Harford
  • Table of contents:
    Chronology and sources
    Chronologie und Quellen
    I. Akt / Act I (Szene / Scene I-VII)
    II. Akt / Act II (Szene / Scene I-VIII)
    III. Akt / Act III (Szene / Scene I-XII)
  • Dedication: im Angedenken an Olga Janácková

Work introduction

With his third opera Jenufa Leoš Janácek succeeded in making his breakthrough as an operatic composer. Since the premiere of this moving story about the fate of the sexton and her stepdaughter Jen?fa at the Brno National Theatre in 1904, it has become one of the composer’s most frequently performed works. Janácek was the first to succeed in transforming everyday speech directly into music. His method of using speech-melodic motives is clearly distinctive. It is known that the composer preserved everyday conversations in the form of little musical sketches: ‘Jotting down genuine speech melody is, as it were, music’s life class,’ he said.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Next performances

World première

National Theatre, Brno (CZ)
Orchestra of the National Theatre of Brno
Metodej Hrazdira Cyril

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works