COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Luciano Berio: Encore

  • for orchestra
  • 4 3 4 3 - 3 3 3 1 - timp, perc(2), hp, cel, pno, alto sax, t.sax, str
  • Duration: 5’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st piccolo
    2nd piccolo
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    clarinet in Eb
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    bass clarinet in Bb
    alto saxophone in Eb
    tenor saxophone in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    bass tuba
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Dedication: dedicated to Willem Vos
  • Commission: Commissioned by the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra on the occasion of its 60th anniversary


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Rotterdam (NL)
David Zinman

Press reviews

Encore is a three-minute jeu d’esprit, an extract from Act II of the opera La vera storia that served to fulfil a commission from the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra in 1978. The orchestra was celebrating its 60th anniversary, and Encore, a miniature display-piece, sustains its good-humoured ebullience from start to finish. It should certainly end a concert rather than act as a curtain raiser – especially a concert where the audience deserves the reward, after heavy and demanding contemporary items, of being reminded that modern music can be light-hearted without casting off all avant-garde attributes.

Arnold Whittall

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works