Luciano Berio: Les mots sont allés ...

  • "Recitativo" (1978)
  • for violoncello
  • Duration: 3’
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Table of contents:
    Les mots sont allés ... "recitativo" pour cello seul
  • Dedication: à Paul Sacher

Work introduction

Composed for Paul Sacher’s 70th birthday, this short piece is based on the dedicatee’s name. The initial tempo is slow, as the pitch material is as it were introduced. Variations follow, according to the commission, which Rostropovich negotiated; the music becomes ever more animated, passionate, virtuosic. Despite its brevity, listeners experience its musical richness.


World première

Basel (CH)
Main soloists:
Mstislav Rostropovich

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works