COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Luciano Berio: Sequenza I

  • for flute
  • new edition from 1992
  • Duration: 6’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Table of contents:
    Sequenza I per flauto solo
  • Dedication: a Severino Gazzelloni

Work introduction

Berio composed the first of his Sequenze in 1958, for flute; it was published by Edizioni Suvini Zerboni. Having set himself the task of writing multi-voiced music for the solo instrument, the composer formulated his plan thus in the introduction to the piece: “Writing for a single-voice instrument today means that the composer must thoroughly re-establish the relationship between open and concealed, linear and melodic counterpoint from the ground up; this touches a central nerve-point of musical invention.”


World première

Darmstadt (DE)
Main soloists:
Severino Gazzelloni

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works