Luke Bedford: Three Intermezzi

Luke Bedford Three Intermezzi
Three Intermezzi

Luke Bedford: Three Intermezzi

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for piano and string quartet
Luke Bedford
Instrumentation details:
1st violin
2nd violin
Commissioned by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, President of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation.
More Less

Work introduction

Franck's Piano Quintet in F minor is one of my favourite pieces of chamber music. From first hearing it, I felt a connection with this expressive and structurally fascinating music. I found there was something inherent in the cyclical nature of his piece that could be expanded upon in a way not possible in his time. I wanted to find a new context for those notes written over a century ago. So I have moulded the three discrete movements of Franck's piece into a single continuum by composing three short movements that can either be performed separately or preceding each movement of Franck's Quintet

1) Prelude – Piano solo. This movement builds towards its goal – the opening of Franck's Quintet.

2) Quartettsatz – Only for strings, this movement uses quarter-tones to explore a strange, expressive world.

3) Aria – All the instruments are combined for the first time in the Intermezzi. Whilst the piano plays a series of broken chords, the strings play a slow, lyrical melody.

Luke Bedford

Special prints

Three Intermezzi

Luke Bedford: Three Intermezzi

score and parts
for piano and string quartet , 15’

Three Intermezzi

Luke Bedford: Three Intermezzi

study score
for piano and string quartet , 15’

World première

Concert Hall, Brighton (GB)
Main soloists:
Thomas Gould, Miranda Dale, vln; Clare Finnimore, vla; Caroline Dearnley, vc; Huw Watkins, pno

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.