COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Mauricio Kagel: Ludwig van

  • for various instruments
  • Duration: minimum duration 15'
  • Composer: Mauricio Kagel

Work introduction

Regarding the ‘metacollage’ Ludwig van, Hommage à Beethoven for any combination of forces (1969), Mauricio Kagel, the composer, said that music of the past should also be performed as music of the present. The score comprises illustrations of interior décor onto which pages of Beethoven scores have been pasted; what the interpreters perform depends on their subjective perception.


World première

Madrid (ES)
Mauricio Kagel
Main soloists:
Kölner Ensemble für Neue Musik

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works