Nikolaj Jakowlewitsch Mjaskowski: 7. Symphonie

Nikolaj Jakowlewitsch Mjaskowski 7. Symphonie
7. Symphonie

Nikolaj Jakowlewitsch Mjaskowski: 7. Symphonie

op. 24
Year of composition:
Scored for:
for orchestra
Nikolaj Jakowlewitsch Mjaskowski
3 3 3 3 - 4 2 3 1 - timp, hp, cym, b.d, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
cor anglais
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
bass clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass drum (+t-tam)
violin I
violin II
double bass
More Less

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

Nikolaj Mjaskowski’s Symphony No. 7 awakens many associations among listeners: the rare violin solos are reminiscent of Karol Szymanowski, a short passage recalls Bartók’s Duke Bluebeard’s Castle, while two agitated, dramatic passages evoke The Miraculous Mandarin. As the ballet was written sometime later, it begs the question as to whether Bartók could have heard Mjaskowski’s music or if it was – as is more probable – pure coincidence. Fleeting echoes of Russian folk melodies add a richness to the scene. On the whole, however, Symphony No. 7 is a highly dramatic piece of music with few moments of calm; it could even be programme music.

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.