COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Roman Haubenstock-Ramati: 2. Streichtrio

  • for violin, viola, violoncello
  • Duration: 20’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Roman Haubenstock-Ramati
  • Commission: Kompositionsauftrag der Alban Berg Stiftung 1985 zum 100. Geburtstag von Alban Berg

Work introduction

This piece was composed for the 100th birthday of Alban Berg, its dedicatee. It is formed of six attacca movements, the number recalling Berg’s Lyrische Suite. In fact, associations are detectible – with Berg’s presto movement, for instance – but their motion is of course guided by other impulses. Indeed, in the string trio’s very centre, snippets of Berg’s chamber music seem to arise, embedded in ever-changing sonic turns; yet there are no actual quotations from any of Berg’s music whatsoever.

World première

Konzerthaus, Wien (AT)
Main soloists:
Ernö Sebestyen, Hatto Beyerle, Martin Ostertag

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works