COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Gustav Mahler: Titan

  • A Tone Poem in Symphony Form in two parts and five movements (1888-1889/1894)
  • in D major
  • for large orchestra
  • 4 4 4 3 - 7 4 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp(1–2), str
  • Duration: 60’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute (+picc)
    3rd flute (+picc)
    4th flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+c.a)
    4th oboe
    clarinet in Eb (+bass cl(Bb))
    1st clarinet in Bb (+cl(A), cl(C))
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A), cl(C))
    3rd clarinet inBb (+cl(A), cl(C), cl(Eb))
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    5th horn in F
    6th horn in F
    7th horn in F
    1st trumpet in F (+piston (Bb))
    2nd trumpet in F (+piston (Bb))
    3rd trumpet in F
    4th trumpet in F
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    contrabass tuba
    percussion(3) (trgl, cym, turkish cym, t-t, b.dr)
    violin I
    violin II
    double bass
  • Composer: Gustav Mahler
  • Editor: Reinhold KubikStephen E. Hefling
Web Cover

Printed product

Gustav Mahler: Titan for large orchestra | UE33911

A tone poem in the form of a symphony in two parts and five movements

  • Edition type: score
  • Series: Mahler Neue Kritische Gesamtausgabe
  • Volume: Supplement Bd. 5
  • Edition info: Based on the New Critical Complete Edition by the "Internationale Gustav Mahler Gesellschaft Wien". Includes a preface, bibliography and the detailed critical report by Stephen Hefling. A German/English glossary lists Gustav Mahler's performance indications and instruments.
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7624-3
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08952-7
Product available


“Titan”, the early five-movement version of the “Symphony No. 1”, has never been published before. Universal Edition is proud to make this score available for the first time in connection with the Complete New Critical Edition. Mahler composed the work at the beginning of 1888 in Leipzig. In 1889 it was subsequently premiered as a “symphonic poem” in Budapest.

Our first edition of “Titan” contains the history of its genesis, reviews of the performances in Hamburg and Weimar, a discussion of the programmes and the underlying ideas behind the work, colour prints of important sources, and an extensive critical commentary that describes the variants, problematic passages and all editorial interpolations.

At this point, we would like to refer to a statement by the International Gustav Mahler Society (IGMG), which is very concerned about Mahler editions that are not up to date with musicological research and thus cannot do justice to the composer's intentions.

To the statement (click in the top right corner to read in English)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works