Victoria Borisova-Ollas: Open Ground

Victoria Borisova-Ollas Open Ground
Open Ground

Victoria Borisova-Ollas: Open Ground

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for orchestra
Victoria Borisova-Ollas
3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, pno, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
3rd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb)
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
violin I
violin II
violin III
Commissioned by Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra
More Less


Open Ground

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

Open Ground for symphony orchestra is inspired by Salman Rushdie’s novel The Ground Beneath Her Feet. It is one of his most significant and complex novels where the fictitious reality goes side by side with real historic events. The collisions between the two worlds often have a most devastating effect on the fate of all characters involved. One of them, a legendary rock singer Vina Apsara, disappears under mysterious circumstances while an earthquake is raging in Mexico.

I have found an emotional inspiration in the first chapter of the book containing the description of the earthquake. The title for the piece is my own though. Open ground is an expression which might be interpreted differently depending on the context. The ground beneath our feet, the reality in which we exist at the moment, how real and stable it actually is? Also who would have ever dared to imagine what it feels like when it suddenly starts to rock?

Victoria Borisova-Ollas

Special prints

Open Ground

Victoria Borisova-Ollas: Open Ground

full score
for orchestra , 10’
Instr.: 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, pno, str

Open Ground

Victoria Borisova-Ollas: Open Ground

study score
for orchestra , 10’
Instr.: 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, pno, str

World première

Berwald Concert Hall, Stockholm (SE)
Swedish Radio SO
Manfred Honeck

Press reviews

“This fabulous Orfeo–rhapsody, with the title Open Ground, is inspired by Salman Rushdie’s novel. It starts as a whisper from an underground world and gradually develops into a musical thriller in which the orchestral “monster” is awakening in pulsing cascades, only to be buried, late on in a sad idyll of oriental colours.”

(Sofia Nyblom, Svenska Dagbladet)

“[Open Ground]is an effectively mastered composition. It is certainly going to be performed around the world as often as some of her earlier works. Very few [composers] have the same feeling for sonic colours and energetic motion in the orchestra as Borisova-Ollas.”

(Thomas Anderberg, Dagens Nyheter)

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.