Victoria Borisova-Ollas: The Kingdom of Silence

  • for orchestra
  • 3 3 4 4 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, pno, str
  • Duration: 15’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute (+alto fl)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+c.a)
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    3rd clarinet in Bb
    bass clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    1st percussion
    2nd percussion
    3rd percussion
    piano (+cel)
    violin I
    violin II
    violin III
  • Composer: Victoria Borisova-Ollas
  • Dedication: In memoriam of Nikolai Korndorf
  • Commission: Commissioned by Gothenburg Art Sounds (GAS) Festival 2003 an Rikskonserter, Sweden.

Work introduction

The mysterious country where we all should go to after our lifetime has many different names, The Kingdom of Silence is one of them. The composition starts as a lullaby where glockenspiel and celesta play a rather simple melody, wrapped in the "echo" of string instruments. Gradually we are sinking into a dream. Different scenes are appearing in a succession, sometimes linked to each other by the same tempi or divided by the sudden change of mood. With the return of the "lullaby", a long chain of events is finished. But the dream itself - does it ever end?

The Kingdom of Silence is written in memoriam of Nikolai Korndorf (1947 - 2001), an extraordinary personality among his generation of Russian composers.

Victoria Borisova-Ollas


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Next performances

World première

Gothenburg Concert Hall, Gothenburg (SE)
Göteborgs Symfoniker
Peter Eötvös

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works