COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Wolfgang Rihm: 3. Symphonie

  • for soprano, baritone, mixed choir and large orchestra
  • 4 4 6 6 - 6 4 4 2 - timp, perc(5), hp(2), cel, pno, mand ad lib, str(min. 16 14 12 10 8)
  • Duration: 67’
  • Soloists:
    soprano, baritone
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute (+picc)
    2nd flute (+picc)
    3rd flute (+picc)
    4th flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe
    4th oboe
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    3rd clarinet in Bb
    4th clarinet in Bb
    1st bass clarinet in Bb
    2nd bass clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon
    4th bassoon
    1st contrabassoon
    2nd contrabassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    5th horn in F
    6th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    4th trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    4th trombone
    1st tuba
    2nd tuba
    1st harp
    2nd harp
    mandolin ad lib
    violin I
    violin II
  • Choir: SATB
  • Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
  • Text author: Friedrich NietzscheArthur Rimbaud

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Berlin (DE)
Berliner Philharmonisches Orchester
Michael Gielen
Main soloists:
Inga Nielsen, Gerhard Faulstich

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works