COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Arvo Pärt: Berliner Messe

  • for mixed choir (SATB) and string orchestra
  • minimum number of players: 10 8 6 6 4 or 8 8 6 6 4
  • Duration: 25’
  • Instrumentation details:
    violin I
    violin II
    contrabass (The minimum number of players would be 10 8 6 6 4 or 8 8 6 6 4)
  • Composer: Arvo Pärt
  • Table of contents:
    Erster Alleluiavers zum Weihnachtsfest (ad lib.)
    Zweiter Alleluiavers zum Weihnachtsfest (ad lib.)
    Erster Alleluiavers zum Pfingstfest (ad lib.)
    Zweiter Alleluiavers zum Pfingstfest (ad lib.)
    Veni Sancte Spiritus (ad lib.)
    Agnus Dei
  • Commission: im Auftrag des 90. Deutschen Katholikentages Berlin e.V.

Work introduction

The Berlin Mass is intended to be sung liturgically during Pentecost, and includes the Veni Sancte Spiritus specific to that service. The gently unfolding repetition deliberately avoids dramatic and pictorial elements, exuding quiet dignity and a profound sense of joy. The vocal scores have almost no interpretive markings. Dynamics and tempi are left to the performers; it is their task to experience and communicate the rich spiritual possibilities offered in the music. The work is devout and transparent. For the willing listener, it can be a clear window into the soul. (Richard Brown)


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Markuskirche, Erlangen (DE)
Kammerorchester Schloss Werneck
Ulf Klausenitzer

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works