Béla Bartók: Bluebeard’s Castle

  • Opera in 1 act (1911)
  • final version 1921
  • 4 3 3 4 - 4 4 4 1 - timp(2), perc(3), hp(2), cel, org, str - stage music: tpt(4), alto tbn(4)
  • Duration: 60’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute
    4th flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    1st clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb), cl(A))
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb), cl(A))
    3rd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A), bass cl(A), bass cl(Bb))
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon
    4th bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in Bb
    2nd trumpet in Bb
    3rd trumpet in Bb
    4th trumpet in Bb
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    4th trombone
    bass tuba
    1st harp
    2nd harp
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    4th trumpet in C
    1st alto trombone
    2nd alto trombone
    3rd alto trombone
    4th alto trombone
    violin I(16)
    violin II(16)
    double bass(8)
  • Roles: Herzog Blaubart, baritone Judith, mezzo-soprano Die früheren Frauen, silent Prolog, speaking part
  • Composer: Béla Bartók
  • Librettist: Béla Balázs
  • Miscellaneous: Michael Dimi Calvocoressi
  • Text source: based on the theatre fairytale "Ariane et Barbe-Bleue" (Maurice Maeterlinck)
  • Text adapter: Karl Heinz FüsslHelmut Wagner
  • Language: Hungarian
  • Translator: Christopher HassallWilhelm ZieglerMichael Dimi Calvocoressi
  • Table of contents:
    Herzog Blaubarts Burg / Bluebeard’s Castle
  • Remarks: Distribution for the USA: Boosey & Hawkes, New York.

Work introduction


Sample pages

Next performances

World première

Budapest (HU)
Egisto Tango

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works