COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Karlheinz Stockhausen: Fresco

  • Wandklänge zur Meditation (1969)
  • for 4 orchestra groups
  • Duration: approx. 5 hours
  • Instrumentation details:
    The orchestra is splitted into 4 characteristic mixed instrumental groups by the conductor. The number of instruments should be equal in every group. A conductor and a co-conductor is needed. The piece should be played in 4 different rooms or a big lobby. The world premiere took place in the Beethoven-Halle in Bonn/GER. The groups were divided by the composer as follows: I: 1 tuba, 2 tbn, 2 bs, 3 hr - 1 perc (2 timp, mar) - conductor (ob) - 2 ob, 2 tpt, 2 Kl, 2 fl, vib II: cb(2), vc(3), vla(4) - conductor (harmonium) - vln.II(5), vln.I(6) III: conductor (pno) - 1 tbn, cb(2), 1 bs, vc(2), 2 hr, vla(2), 1 ob, 1 tpt, vln.II(2), 1 Kl, vln.I(2), 1 fl Iv: cb(2), vc(3), vla(3) - conductor (acc or chromatic harmonica) - vln.II(4), vln.I(7)
  • Composer: Karlheinz Stockhausen
  • Remarks: The orchester is divided into four groups. A conductor plus three co-conductors are needed. The work is being played in four different rooms.

World première

Bonn (DE)
Orchester der Beethovenhalle
Volker Wangenheim

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works