COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Béla Bartók: Concerto No. 2

  • for piano and orchestra
  • 3 2 2 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(2), str
  • Duration: 25’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    piccolo (+3rd fl)
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe (+c.a)
    2nd oboe
    1st clarinet in B/A
    2nd clarinet in B/A (+bass cl(Bb))
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    bass tuba
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Béla Bartók
  • Editor: Peter Bartók

Work introduction

Bartók might have protected his first piano concerto but with time, he was obliged to accept that “the facture is somewhat – even very – difficult for both the audience and the orchestra. That is why I decided some years later, 1930/1931, to compose my second piano concerto as a counterpart to the first one, thematically more agreeable and with fewer difficulties for the orchestra. This intention explains the more folk-like, lighter character of most of the themes.” Further, the composer describes the orchestration: “The orchestra consists of winds and percussion in the first movement; it is made up of (muted) strings and timpani in the Adagio; the Scherzo uses strings, a group of winds and percussion, and only the third requires the full orchestra.”

Bálint Varga


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Frankfurt am Main (DE)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works