COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Friedrich, Brinkmann: Arnold Schoenberg: Variations Op. 31

  • Composer: Burkhard Friedrich Rainer O. Brinkmann
  • General editor: Constanze WimmerHelmut Schmidinger
Web Cover

Printed product

Burkhard Friedrich / Rainer O. Brinkmann: Arnold Schönberg - Variationen op. 31  | UE26320

Listening Lab – Materials for communicating music

  • Edition type: book
  • Series: Listening Lab
  • Volume: 6
  • Languages: German | English
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7423-2
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08752-3
Product available


Orchestra and concert promoters long for a public that is excited by music and curious about the modern repertoire. Today there are many ways to awaken this excitement. Musicians as well as music educators are forming new alliances to bring young people and adults into close contact with music.

Listening Lab is a new series that offers practical and inspiring approaches for children, young people and adults. Music educators will find general tips for the creative design of programs for music lovers as well as concrete suggestions that open up and allow for a deeper understanding of each work.

In this edition, Arnold Schönberg’s “Variations for orchestra op. 31” are being explored by means of various playful exercises.
Universal Edition also provides a study score to this work with the number UE 34820.

Sample Pages


Volume six in the superb “Listening Lab” series is crammed with ideas for teachers and workshop leaders. Aimed at group and classroom environments, it is also inspirational for private study.
Music Teacher Magazine, November 2017 (Al Summers)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works