George Morton

Works by George Morton (5) All works

George Morton biography

George Morton was born in Lincolnshire (England) and read Music at the University of Sheffield. Having received his Bachelors degree, he took up postgraduate studies with George Nicholson (composition/orchestration) and Kenneth Brown (trumpet). Since graduating, George has settled in the leafy city of Sheffield and continues to enjoy its proximity to the Peak District National Park and locally-brewed beer.

George specialises in creating arrangements of large scale symphonic works to be played by ensemble or chamber orchestra. Following a commission from Latitude Music Festival (Suffolk, UK) for a chamber version of Holst’s The Planets, George has created new arrangements of large scale repertoire from the nineteenth and twentieth century. His orchestrations have been performed to great acclaim at venues including Cadogan Hall (London, UK), Turner Sims (Southampton, UK), Heino Eller Nimeline Tartu Muusikakool (Talin, Estonia) and Christ Church (Malvern, UK). Ensembles to perform his arrangements include The Són Project, Mozart Symphony Orchestra, Amadeus Orchestra, Little Malvern Ensemble, Rep Orchestra, Luzerner Symphony Orchestra and Trinity Church Music (Australia). George continues to take commissions for new arrangements for both concert stage and theatre pit.

As a conductor, George is in demand across the North of England. He is founder and Artistic Director of Rep Orchestra, an ensemble based in Sheffield which devotes its concerts to exploring innovative and exciting projects and specialise in silent film performances (Chaplin’s Gold Rush [&] City Lights, Lang’s Metropolis, Sounds of the Cosmos, The Snowman). He is Director of Music with the Sheffield Youth Orchestra, Principal Conductor of the Nottingham University Wind Orchestra and principal Guest Conductor with Hallam Sinfonia. He teaches conducting privately and at the University of Nottingham.

Future performances (4)

Other UE composers

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.